Barangay I Profile


Barangay I was created pursuant to P. D. No. 86 and 86-A calling for citizen’s assemblies. The assembly meeting and election of officers was held at the San Fernando South Central School on March 17, 1973 with Vice Mayor Joaquin “Kining” T. Ortega, presiding. San Fernando, La Union Poblacion was subdivided into four (4) barangays namely: Barangay I, II, III, and IV.


Location : City Proper

Barangay Boundaries:

North : Barangay Pagdaraoan
East : Barangay Tanqui
South : Barangay II
West : Barangay III

Land Area : 15.9776 Hectares

Population : 2306

Voting Population : 1700

No. of Households : 441

Average Household Size : 5.16



Total No. of Business Establishments : 202 (with business permit as of October 2007)

Predominant Businesses or Products Produced in the Barangay: Hardware Shops, Banks, Fast food & restaurants, General Merchandises, Internet Cafes (Part of the business and commercial center of the City)

Barangay Hall : Lubrin Heights

Barangay Health Center : Lubrin Heights

Barangay Day Care Center : Lubrin Heights

School/s : La Union Cultural Institute

Infrastructure & Utilities :

  • Electricity – 100% (Supplied by LUECO)
  • Water : 85%   (Supplied by MLUWD) & 15%   (Open pump/dug wells)